Chapter tune: Angra – Bleeding heart

Warning: Foul language

Rose was stunned. Did she hear correctly? “What did you say?” she asked hesitantly.

“I don’t think it’s gonna work out, doll. I mean, it was fun and all but… this is not really my scene.” Suddenly the word doll coming out of his mouth had a disturbing quality about it.

Rose stood there, unable to react. He was kidding, right? No, his expression said otherwise.

“So was it all a lie then?” she finally muttered.

“Well, I wouldn’t call it a lie. Last night felt pretty real to me, if you know what I mean” he said, and his tone was so vile that Rose felt sick to her stomach.

“So you did all this just to get me to sleep with you. You never felt anything about me.”

“I fucking hate that sentimental crap. Why do you care so much?” he said, obviously starting to get irritated “I had fun, you had fun, so what more do you want? To tell you the truth, I got bored sooner than I expected. So why don’t you do me a favor and go home.”

Rose felt like she would faint. But she couldn’t believe she had been played like this, something did not quite match. “No. I don’t believe you” she said “Something else is going on, and I will not leave until you tell me what it is”

“You’d like that, wouldn’t you? Nah, that’s the truth. And let me give you a piece of advice doll: Girls like you should stay away from guys like me. …you know what, I don’t even care. Just stay away from me.” Jared replied angrily.

Rose didn’t move. It was partly the shock of what she just heard and partly the hope that everything she was living right now wasn’t real.

“Did you not hear me? GET OUT!!!” Jared’s scream cut the silence like a knife.

Rose did not have the time or the energy to answer. She just ran, to get the hell out of there.

A little later, Emma and Connor came to the house. “Guys, we’re home! I wanna know everything about last night!” Emma shouted cheerfully from the door but got no answer. When they entered the living room, they saw Jared almost sleeping on a chair, clearly wasted. The table was covered with empty beer bottles and full ashtrays. “I don’t like this” Emma whispered to Connor.

“What happened?” she asked him but again, no answer. “Hey meathead! What did you do?” Suddenly Jared got up. “That’s none of your business, but if you must know, your friend hit the road and she’s sure as hell not coming back! And I don’t wanna hear anything more about it!”

“What happened man?” Connor approached.

“I said, it’s none of your business!” Jared growled like a volcano ready to explode.

“But… you were both so excited last night…”

“How about leaving me the fuck alone you pathetic weirdos! Don’t you have anything better to do than ask all these fucking questions! I’m going to the fucking bar and I don’t know when the fuck I’m gonna be back. Fuck you and goodbye!”

“Oh no” Emma said when they were left alone “I’m gonna go check on Rose”

Although she had no idea what the hell happened last night, Emma kind of expected the state she’d find her friend in. She knew that whatever happened was probably his fault. Rose was too kind to do anything to hurt him, and Jared was, well, Jared. “I knew I should have never vouched for him, that asshole!” she thought to herself, as Rose let her in her house.

“Girl, are you alright? What am I saying, of course you’re not. What happened?”

“I don’t know…” Rose said “Everything was so great and suddenly…” she started crying.

Emma hugged her friend. “Come on, I’ll make some tea for you to calm down, and then we’ll talk ok? If you want to, of course.”

They went to the living room and Rose started telling her everything.

Meanwhile, Jared was at the bar getting drunk once again.

“You’re blocking my view”

“What did you say boy?” said a rather heavy man who was near.

“I said, you’re fucking blocking my view jackass, move aside!”

“Who are you calling a jackass boy, you know I could break you in half if I wanted to!”

“Oh yeah, I’d like to fucking see you try you shitbag!”

But the man was military, so after getting his pretty ass kicked, Jared looked around to find other possible candidates to continue his self-destructive behavior.

“You piece of shit, are you looking at me? I’ll break your skull you pipsqueak! Oh, are you gonna cry you little crybaby?”

“No, I’m not! I mean, I’m sorry!”

“Hey you! Yeah, I’m talking to you, you dimwit! Is that a wig you’re wearing? Maybe you shouldn’t have paid full price for it you fucking moron! Get out of my face, loser!”

“I’m outta here!”

None of them would have it. In fact, in a matter of minutes, everyone started quickly fleding when he appeared nearby. “What a bunch of sissies” he thought “you can’t even pick a fight in here anymore”

So, he proceeded to the next best thing after drunken bar brawls: getting wasted all over again.

As he was sitting on the couch alone, he thought of Rose. He thought of the night he first met her, he was again sitting right here on this exact couch. His sweet, innocent Rose. It broke his heart to hurt her like he did. “It doesn’t matter anymore, she should forget about me. The sooner, the better. I’m a dead man anyway.”

He saw a familiar figure approaching him. “What do you want Molly?” he slurred.

“The bar will be closed soon and everyone is leaving. Do you want a ride home?” she asked with a mischievous grin.

“I’m not going anywhere tonight, especially not home”

“In that case, I know a motel nearby, do you want me to take you there? I can keep you company if you want to” she whispered in his ear.

Did he want to spend the night with Molly? Not really, but at this point, this was possibly the lowest he could sink. And man, did he not feel like clinging onto anything that would bring him back up.

29 thoughts on “1.15 – Burning bridges

  1. Oh no, this seems like Molly had something to this behavior of Jared. How dare she step between him and Rose. I should have predicted that they wouldn’t stay happy for long, considering his ex-lover and generally what makes Jared. Not only is he mean, he is in fact fragile and vulnerable, it seems. I wonder what happened that got this side of his nature into the daylight.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Molly is a …well, I don’t really want to say this word – believe it or not lol, but the truth is she has nothing to do with Jared’s behavior. She just found an opportunity and immediately grabbed it 😮 As for Jared, he seems to not care what the future will bring because he thinks he has no future. But you’ll find out what happened exactly at the next chapter 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hm, I wonder then who was the one that caused Jared to act like this. Ah, I guess I gotta put some final touches on tomorrow’s chapter. I am so stressing myself out every time! Glad you posted an update, I was running out of things to do and always nice to find out more about Jared and Rose.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Boy does Jared know how to spiral downward… The dead man comment can have so many different connotations, hopefully that’s not really the case. Poor Rose <\3

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Whaaaaaaat? Omg I don’t even know what to think of Jared anymore. He was soooo nice but now he’s acting like a total jerk. What the hell happened for him to sink that low? I need answers! I kinda feel like Jared is too much of a mess for Rose, he keeps on hurting her… maybe she should actually move on (how about sweet Christopher)?
    Can’t wait for the next chapter 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, he’s such a mess..! I’ll explain everything in the next chapter, but you’re right. He can’t keep hurting the people around him like that! Sweet Christopher would be so much better for Rose indeed, at least compared to Jared’s current state! :/

      Liked by 1 person

  4. There has to be something more that Jarred isn’t telling us. I bet it has something to do with the phone call he got the night before.
    I haven’t given up on him yet, and I hope Rose doesn’t either.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so sweet to not have given up on Jared yet (I haven’t either 😉)!! ❤ Rose is feeling really hurt right now and it won't be easy to forgive him, but we'll see what the future has in store for them! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have a feeling the ghosts of Jared’s past are finally rearing their ugly heads. And Jared, being Jared, is shoving everyone around him out of the danger zone as swiftly (and thus, forcefully) as possible. Dude, doesn’t he know that NEVER turns out to be the good thing to do?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Nooo Jared! I’m sure there’s a good explanation for why he’s acting like an idiot, but Rose shouldn’t give him another chance because he’s in too much of a mess, and it may happen again. She should find someone else who doesn’t have much going on in their lives. Now, I will go read more so his outburst is explained 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Okay, I’m officially over Jared. Is it too bad to say that I don’t want to see Rose forgive him? At the beginning of the previous chapter I thought ”Great, Jared finally knows what he wants from life” and now I’m like “Leave Rose finally alone, you pathetic weirdo!” Yeah, I borrowed his own line there 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Molly’s back at it again. Damn, girl, leave the man alone! Though I suppose Jared is quite happy to have this distraction. Silly boy. What’s with this idea that he’s a dead man? Why is he in trouble… I hope it’s not something from his past.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m so mad at him right now. How could you? The sex wasn’t just nothing to Rose. That was like surrender to her and now… Uhh! I know there’s some sort of explanation for it, especially with his line about him being dead, but dang, dude… Way to hurt Rose. Deep.

    I’m wondering if this has something to do with the gambling and the hustling from way back…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are not very far! 😉
      Thaaat was a difficult chapter to write. It felt like I was destrying everything that I build in the previous one!
      Poor Rose, she trusted him and then he went and pulled this. Not cool Jared!

      Like

Leave a Reply

