Chapter tune: Big White – Save your love

The evening after the police incident, Jared showed up at Rose’s door while she was returning from work. He had barely slept, barely eaten – it was a good thing he, at least, showered- but none of it mattered as he was determined to fix what he had broken.

Unfortunately for him, he underestimated the damage that had been done.

“What are you doing here?” Rose said fuming. “I don’t want to talk to you, go away!”

“Rose, I’m so sorry for the way I treated you. But it was all a misunderstanding! I can explain everything”

He started telling her what happened but Rose cut him off. “Do you have any idea how this sounds? Do you expect me to believe any of what you’re telling me? Because I heard you went with Molly the day after this… misunderstanding. Or was that a misunderstanding too?” she said furiously.

Jared was amazed at how quickly the news travelled in this goddamned town. He couldn’t spell a word.

“I see you’re not denying it” Rose said coldly. “So what do you want now? Did Molly not satisfy you enough? I can’t believe I’m having this conversation again. You can’t treat people like that and then expect everything to be okay!”

“No, it wasn’t like that. Please Rose, you have to understand…” But how could he possibly justify his behavior? It was useless.

“I don’t want to hear anything you have to say. You said more than enough the other day. You know what, you’re a… you’re a jerk! I shouldn’t have spent a minute of my time with you! Don’t talk to me ever again!”

Jared left disappointed. Why, really? Did he honestly expect things to be fixed just like that, just because he bothered to show up, throwing poor excuses at her? But most of all, he felt that way because he let Rose and himself down once again. She was right, he was a jerk. A selfish prick. He had been that way for almost all his life.

His steps led him to the beach. The bakery was closed but the there was light and movement in the apartment above. Miss Myrtle was still up.

“Hi miss Myrtle, excuse me for visiting at this hour” he said a little embarrassed when she answered the door.

“Oh, don’t worry dearie, I wasn’t going to sleep right now. Wait, let me get you some apple pie and we’ll talk, ok? So, what’s been bothering you dearie? I haven’t seen you for some days now” she said with concern.

“That’s because I screwed up and I have no idea how to make things better” Jared said. They sat at the table and he quickly started explaining what happened.

Miss Myrtle was listening carefully. “Well” she said in a serious tone when he was done talking “I admit that’s a pretty difficult situation you have created my dear boy. I’m afraid I can’t help you enough. It doesn’t matter what you – or I, for that matter – say to her now, the only thing that matters is what you do. I don’t thing it’s too late, but you know people don’t have an on-off switch, or whatever you kids call that. Maybe you should consider leaving her alone for the time being, if that’s what she wishes. Don’t push her now, have some patience and be selfless. To love is to consider and respect what the other person needs, even if sometimes it is the last thing we want.”

“But what if I lose her forever?”

“Let’s hope this will not happen dearie” miss Myrtle said “despite what you did, I believe you. But you can’t just say you love her, you have to act like it.”

“I didn’t say-”

“Don’t be embarrassed dearie. I know you love her, but she has to see it too.”

Jared left quite sad. He hoped for a more positive point of view, especially from miss Myrtle, but he sensed that she was right. He was afraid of the possibility he’d lose Rose forever, but he knew what had to be done. He would give her what she needed, even if it was the last thing he’d ever do.

When he got home he couldn’t sleep. The dawn found him smoking and thinking.

“Hey, are you alright?” he heard Connor’s voice as he was lost in his thoughts.

“Well, not really. Look man, I need to go away for some time. But before I go, I wanted to apologize for my behavior the other night. And I have to confess something to you, brother. I should have told you years ago”

He told Connor everything that happened between him and their father, and how he was one of the reasons he killed himself. He also told him about what happened the night he thought the police were after him. Connor stayed silent for a while.

“I’m sorry man, I know that I fucked up…”

“No” Connor finally said “don’t apologize. Look brother, I don’t hate you. I mean, it sucks a little but… I don’t miss our father really. I don’t even think I ever loved him. Is that weird? What I miss is you, we used to tell everything to each other, remember? And I worry a little about you man.  For the past years I see you transforming into some copy of him, with the drinking and the picking fights. How long will you have to defend yourself from him? It’s over man. He’s gone now, he can’t hurt us. So no, I will not blame you for what happened. I won’t even blame him, he was a sad miserable person. But I’d hate to see you turn into that person. I want you to be happy brother, you know I do.”

Jared stayed silent. He knew everything his brother said was true.

“I won’t ask you where you’re going, that’s your business” Connor continued talking. “But I expect you to be here in three months for the wedding.”

“What? Are you serious?” Jared said joyfully “Congratulations little brother! I wish you every happiness”. Connor pretended to not have noticed that his brother avoided mentioning if he would indeed be back.

Before he finally went to sleep, he looked at his reflection in the mirror. There was only one man who deserved to be cut off from his life; the ghost of the man he despised all these years, the man he’d become.

When the evening came, he left town.

PS: The pictures and the writing were not exactly how I wanted them to be. I was hoping for a much longer chapter, where many other things would take place. Unfortunately, my time to play has been very limited these days, so I just decided to post the first half. So sorry! Also, please excuse my awesome (not) photo editing skills lol! Thanks so much for reading! 😁

29 thoughts on “1.18 – Too late?

  1. Lol, news does travel fast XD “To love is to consider and respect what the other person needs, even if sometimes it is the last thing we want” That’s quite true, and a beautiful quote might I add. I never expected Jared to find solace from Miss Myrtle of all people, but I’m glad he did. Hopefully her words help him feel a bit better… and hopefully Rose comes around, but she’ll definitely need more time this time around. Maybe if he didn’t spiral and go to Molly, she would’ve been more willing to listen. But no used crying over spilt milk now, Jared needs to face the consequences of his actions, but who can blame him… The whole situation was kind of crazy, he thought he was a dead man for crying out loud. (Still not over how he managed to dodge that bullet, lol.) Haha that photo at the end with Jared and his father in the mirror is awesome! And congrats Connor and Emma (I’m assuming)!!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I really thought about the quote, if it made sense at all, haha. Because patience without action might be considered indifference. But we all know Jared is a man of action! 😉
      If only it weren’t for Molly! But this situation took a whole new color now that Molly was involved so no easy forgiveness from Rose this time! Let’s hope Jared will find a way ☺
      Thank you for the mirror photo, you can definitely see it’s edited but I did my best lol! And yep, Emma is the lucky bride! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s true, if he just gives Rose too much space then it will seem like he doesn’t care to put in an effort/take action… Guess he needs to find the balance of giving her some time, but not too much~ Looking forward to seeing what he does

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my, I expected that Rose wouldn’t listen and I can’t say I don’t understand, but hence this story is so centred around their romance, I was hoping that maybe that’s not the end for them? I hope it isn’t. I really do.
    Miss Myrtle is such a heartwarming old lady, she was so supportive towards Jared and I really appreciate it. I think he needed someone like her. I am also glad that he decided to talk to Connor, so he now knows what Jared does. It’s great that his brother isn’t angry at him.
    I wonder what is the response to the title question, but I guess it would be “It’s never too late- never too late to start over, never too late to be happy.”- Jane Fonda.
    P.S. Don’t worry about your photo-editing skills, I basically drew Seth’s hand in the last chapter and no one even said anything about it. People are too nice, lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahaha, thanks! It literally took me one minute to make that picture, the hard part was to make Jared and his dad stand at the same tile and keep the camera at the same position. And they did not want to cooperate lol! Oh well.
      I loved your Jane Fonda quote! It suits this situation completely 🙂
      It’s a good thing that at least Connor forgave him, they were always pretty close and Jared actually helped him through a lot 🙂
      Don’t worry about Jared, he’ll be back 😉

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I think it was time, indeed! 🙂 How long could he hide the past from his brother? And it’s a good thing Connor didn’t find out another way too.
      I’m so excited about their wedding! I love those two ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So lad that Jared and Connor reconciled a bit, it’s good that Jared will have his brother to count on. I wonder where he’s going? Congrats to Connor and Emma!! We get to see their wedding, right? 😉

    I must say that I knew Rose wouldn’t forgive Jared this time, not after his fling with Molly. But maybe if she talks to other people and finds out how much he truly does care about her, she’d be willing to give things a try again?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Where is Jared going hmm.. good question! It will be answered soon 😉
      Of course we’re going to see their wedding, the last chapters have become so melodramatic, I want to show some happiness lol!
      Molly has to ruin everything, doesn’t she? But to be honest, it wasn’t really her fault this time… let’s hope there’s something that can be done to fix all this. Rose talking with other people might be a good start. 🙂
      Thank you for the comment! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. That’s life in a small town; everything is everyone’s business.
    I think that Miss Myrtle is right (she always gives the best advice). I think that both Rose and Jarred need some time to think. Give her space, if you push too hard he will push her away!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s right! News travel so fast in Sunset Valley..!
      And you’re right (and miss Myrtle), right now Jared can do nothing more or he’ll lose her completely, he can’t always get away with just pretty words. He has to earn her trust again! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahh, I love Miss Myrtle even more after this, she’s so wise and sweet. Her advice is really good and I hope it works. I’m not surprised at Rose’s reaction at all. I hope she somehow sees that Jared really does love her! But I wonder where he is going… and he better not miss Connor’s wedding!
    Nice concept with the mirror, by the way 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha, the mirror picture creeps me out a bit, eek! Thank you so much! 🙂
      Rose’s reaction is understandable to say the least. But she still has feelings for Jared, he just has to make them resurface – again! *sigh*
      Jared better not miss Connor’s wedding or he’ll have everyone against him (even though he leaves for a good reason)! As for where he’s going, you’ll find out very soon! 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Oh I do hope Rose forgives Jared. Even though he didn’t need to be so harsh about breaking up with her, he was only doing it to protect her. I do think that it should take a while for Rose to completely trust him again because his past doesn’t make him the most trusting person. Also, whenever I check on your blog, I sometimes see that I have unfollowed you… I continue to click follow, but it seems to go back to me not following you… Do you get any notifications when I follow you again? Anyways, another great chapter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so right about Rose not trusting him anymore, who would? He scared the hell out of her that night 🤔
      It’s ok, sometimes I unfollow blogs without wanting it because the follow/unfollow button is too close to the scrollbar! Could it be that? I do get the notifications 🙂
      Thank you so much for your comment! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m happy that Rose stood by her dignity and didn’t make it easy for Jared this time around. At this point I don’t know if there’s any point in trying to win her back. He really f*cked up this one.

    I’m so happy that Connor & Emma are getting married! If Jared comes to their wedding (and he should) he might have the last chance to approach Rose… Luckily, the answer is only one click ahead!

    P.S. That picture of Jared looking at the reflection of his father in the mirror was really a nice idea. If the retouching still bugs you, you can e-mail both pictures to me and I’ll fix it for ya 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wanted to marry Connor and Emma for so long, but there never seemed to be a right time lol! Maybe Jared has one last thing he can do 😉
      Thank you so much for your offer! I really appreciate this, you’re so sweet! ❤ I will certainly send the pictures (if it's not too much of a hassle of course) Thank you again! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, you mean the one where it snows. It was pretty chilling!! 😂 He needs to think hard what he’s done and come up with a plan to make it all better. Hopefully in time for the wedding too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. No need to excuse your awesome (yes) photo editing. I was actually going to say that the mirror shot was pretty cool. Nice work! On the story… Oh wise Myrtle. Very curious where this will lead…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

