Chapter tune: Asia – Don’t cry

It turned out the family Jared was talking about was the only sister of Rose’s father – Margaret. She never had any kids and she was living alone – since her much older husband had passed away years ago – in Twinbrook. 

Jared had done his own research but had to hire a P.I. to finish the job on time.

He had warned Rose that Margaret was not exactly the friendliest person on earth and offered to go with her to Twinbrook, but she insisted she should do this alone. The subject of their relationship did not turn up again, but he decided to leave it alone for the time being.

So, two days after the wedding, Rose took the train to meet her only family left.

Her aunt’s house was huge. Especially for just one person. She felt a little intimidated when she first saw it, but decided that her fear should not be an obstacle to her purpose of reuniting with her family.

After some thought, she rang the bell. A thin sophisticated looking woman opened the door.

“Um…hi, are you Margaret Beaufort?”

When the woman saw Rose, her face became pale with shock, though she tried to hide it.

“Yes, that’s me. Come inside please” she replied, as if she was in a hurry to get back into the house.

“Now, what can I do for you? It’s Rose, right?” Margaret said coldly. 

“How do you know who I am?” Rose replied quite stunned.

“You look exactly like your mother. There’s no point denying it. But I must say, I never expected to see you here. Didn’t you like living in Sunset Valley?”

“…I just wanted to find my family” Rose said reluctantly. She dreamed for a moment like this for years, she imagined it might be difficult at first, but she never expected such cold attitude. “Did you know I was alive all these years?”

“Well… I must say that I did.”

“Since when? Why didn’t you try to contact me? Or raise me yourself since my parents had passed away? …I’m just curious, that’s all” Rose said, not sure if she should be mad along with disappointed.

“First of all, my brother never married your mother. They were going to – even without our parents’ blessing – but then the accident happened. You had your mother’s last name and it was difficult for us to take you in – even if we wanted to.”

“But you didn’t.”

“Not really, no.”

“But…why?”

“Look Rose, my brother made a huge mistake with your mother. He thought he loved her but it was certain that he would eventually get tired. They fought constantly, they even fought right before that car crash – I’m sure it was her fault”

“…How can you possibly know that?” Rose interrupted her.

“I mean, I imagine, judging from your mother’s character. As I was saying, she had nothing to offer to him. He was a senator’s son for god’s sake! Fooling around with a homeless girl, disgraceful! And then she went and got herself pregnant. She had my brother build the house you’re currently living to her name, that’s how shameless she was. You were not supposed to be born. You were just a repercussion of my brother’s poor judgement. We couldn’t see how we could ever take you in.”

Margaret said all that calmly, like it was the most natural thing in the world to abandon a child because they weren’t the result of a well thought profitable plan. She was also referring to Rose’s father as “her brother”, like he had nothing to do with Rose. Not even his name was spoken.

“But, you’re living alone too! Wouldn’t it make you happy if you had a family member alive?”

“It would, but there’s nobody left. Oh, I don’t suppose you’re considering yourself family now, are you?” Margaret said sarcastically.

Rose stood up angrily. She had thought of so many ways this scenario could be played out, but never this. Anger, disappointment and embarrassment were all fighting inside her, all equally strong.

“Thank you for your time. I’m sorry if I bothered you, but I thought an aunt would be happy to see her long lost niece. Or at least, not disgusted.”

“You’re quite rude young lady” Margaret said “Do you want money? Is that it? Wasn’t a whole house enough?”

“Is that what you think? No, you can keep your money. I only wanted to meet you but I guess it was a mistake – like me. Can you at least tell me my father’s name before I go?”

“What’s the point? He’s dead and typically you weren’t even his daughter. Now please get out.”

Rose heard the door behind her forcefully closing. It had gotten dark outside and mild rain had started pouring down.

She suddenly felt the pain of her hopes having been crushed. Tears started pouring down her cheeks as well. She realized she had truly no-one.

She never saw him approaching. “Rose…Are you alright?”

When their eyes met, it didn’t even occur to her to ask what he was doing there. He was there and that was enough. A sense of sadness and relief consumed her. She ran towards him. Right now she wanted to bury her face into his arms, more than anything in the world.

“I’m sorry babe” he said “I’m here now.”

PS: I’m so sorry for the delay and for this chapter being so short! It has been a crazy couple of weeks so I didn’t have much time to play or write. The next one will be out much sooner, promise! πŸ˜€ Thank you for reading! ❀

20 thoughts on “20 – A mistake

  1. Poor Rose 😦 I was so hoping that Jared’s efforts to find Rose’s family would end up well but I’m just as disappointed as Rose. Margaret is so mean, I guess I don’t know her full story but I really wanted to slap her. Just because Rose’s mother wasn’t of the same class as the father gives Margaret no excuse to be that cruel. I hope that Rose will be able to forget her and move on with Jared instead!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, the trip to Twinbrook turned out quite sour…it was hard to write that chapter because things looked so promising in the previous one! 😦 And Margaret accusing Rose of being rude while she was so disrespectful to begin with..what a witch! But I promise we will find out more about her family soon πŸ˜‰
      I looove your new avatar by the way! Briar is so pretty ❀

      Liked by 2 people

  2. What a disappointment for poor Rose. That Margaret is such a mean old lady and I hope we will never have to see her again after her rude behavior towards her niece.
    And don’t worry about the delay, it was worth the wait. By the way, I have a strange habit of placing my characters in Twinbrook, lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, I’m so glad you liked it! πŸ™‚ I hate to disappoint you (again, lol!) but unfortunately this is not the last we’re going to see of Margaret.
      Twinbrook is a very nice world, I love the architecture of the richer houses, but omg the ugliness of most premades!! 😣 They are interestingly looking to say the least! 😁

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You know, Fidelio has such a huge, huge house, because somehow they obtained over 100000 simoleons and when Gemma needs money, I take away money from Fidelio and add up to her funds like “daddy, we need a room for Sam asap” πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Margaret was so rude! She had no reason to treat Rose like that if she’s never met her! And to treat Rose terribly only because her mother wasn’t the same class as her father is truly outrageous… But I’m glad Jared tried to find her family. Maybe she can move on and make her own family with Jared? He really does seem to care! Great chapter!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much! πŸ˜€ Margaret is one of those people who never look beyond the surface really. At least Jared tried to help and he is determined to make up for all the times he hurt her! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Hmm….not what I have expected. To be honest, I hoped Rose’s reunion with her family would be happier. This old, superficial, cold, arrogant and unpleasant female is the last family member I have imagined… No wait, I haven’t imagined her at all. Rose is better off without an aunt like this! I’m glad Jared was there for her πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course she’s better off without her, but unfortunately we will see her sour face again in the future… 😦
      Jared was worried that something like this would happen and he guessed right, so fortunately he was there! ❀ Thank you for your comment! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Umm ok, what is Margaret’s deal? Blood is blood, no matter the circumstance – she should’ve treated Rose infinitely kinder especially since she doesn’t have anyone else around herself… Poor Rose, but at least Jared shall score some points for being around at the right time πŸ˜‰ I’m hoping that’s the last we see of that dreadful aunt, unless she realizes how rude she’s been and becomes kinder to Rose

    Liked by 2 people

    1. She’s really something, isn’t she? Unfortunately we will see her again, there’s more story to all of this! And you bet Jared’s gonna score, lol! πŸ˜‚ Thanks for reading and commenting! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Wow, you’d think an old lady who lives alone would be more welcoming to family… But she obviously doesn’t see Rose that way. Perhaps it’s for the best that Rose doesn’t have her in her life. Jared had good timing at the end…. Will she forgive him now? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  7. What a cranky, old Bi***!!! Don’t blame Rose for the actions of her parents. She obviously nothing to do with it.
    But you know what, Rose doesn’t need her. Family doesn’t mean blood relations. Family is the people in your life who love and care about you. And Rose has that with her friends, and Jared of course, back in Sunset Valley.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh she’s all that and then some! But you’re right, Rose has already made a pretty good family for herself back in SV. And now that Jared has realized what he wants from his life, hopefully he’ll be a part of it too! πŸ˜‰ ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

