3.00b – Daddy’s back

Chapter tune: Lou Reed – A perfect day

That Saturday, Raina hopped off the bed at seven o’clock in the morning. It was a bit unusual for her to wake up so early on her own, especially during the weekend. But this was the day her daddy was supposed to come back, so her excitement could not be contained any longer.

“Mommy!!” she shouted, storming into her parents’ bedroom.

Skye, still sleeping, took some time to open her eyes and respond with a frown.

“Honey… what have we said about waking mommy up?”

“Do it without too much noise… I’m so sorry mommy..! It’s just, daddy comes home today and I’m so excited!”

“I know squirt, I am too” Skye smiled at her daughter. It wasn’t possible to stay mad at her sweet face for longer than a few seconds. “But he’s not coming till noon, so we have have plenty of time still. Why don’t you go downstairs to eat some breakfast? And I’ll be right there too. Oh, and please don’t run down the stairs again, honey… You wouldn’t want to stay in bed with a sprained ankle when you could go do the park with daddy and me, would you?”

“Oh, no! I won’t mommy, I promise!”

The rest of the morning went by like a breeze. Raina did her homework and cleaned her room as promised – although it took her roughly double the time needed, for she kept drifting away into her thoughts every fifteen minutes – , and as soon as the clock hit twelve o’clock, all she could do was pace impatiently back and forth, waiting for her dad to arrive. Thankfully that didn’t take long, and soon Jesse was parking his car on the driveway. Raina let out a squeal and stormed outside to greet him. “Daddy!!”

Jesse’s eyes glowed the moment he laid his eyes on her. He had sworn he’d never love another woman as much as he loved his wife, but nobody had prepared him for the kind of feeling that overtook his heart the minute his only daughter was born.

“Where is my precious cupcake! Come here..!”

Raina didn’t need any more encouragement. Even before Jesse had finished his last sentence, she had already jumped into his arms.

“Awww, that’s my girl! Oh my god, how long was I away? You have grown even bigger, baby! I’m sure by next time you’re gonna have to pick me up!”

“I missed you so much daddy!”

“I know muffin, I missed you too. But hey, I’m back now and we’ll do all kinds of fun stuff together!”

“Yay!! Can we go to the beach? Or the park?!”

“Sure baby! We can go to both as soon as we finish lunch, alright?”

“Yay!”

All this time, Skye looked lovingly at her husband and daughter. She knew Raina had always been daddy’s little girl, but she didn’t mind. Although right that moment, she realized with some guilt that she wanted her husband all to herself, even for just a little while.

Jesse, as if he read his wife’s mind, gave her a smoldering look. It had been too long since they were together. He walked towards her, his gaze fixated on her beaming face.

“Hey you…”

He traced a finger onto her lips before he pulled her into a long lasting kiss which left both of them breathless. It was Raina’s giggling that made both of them return to reality.

After quickly greeting his parents, he once again turned to his wife.

“I’ve missed you pokerface… so, so much.”

“Not as much as I missed you, believe me.”

“Ha, wanna bet?” he asked, raising an eyebrow. “So… wanna go to our bedroom and help me, uh… unpack?”

“I’d love to help you unpack” she replied with a mischievous smile, leaning closer.

Jesse’s eyes opened wide and he swallowed hard. “Damn…” he whispered and turned to his daughter “Okay cupcake, your mommy and I are going upstairs to leave my luggage and unpack. But we’ll be down soon and then you’ll tell me all about what you’ve been up to during the last couple of weeks, alright? And I’ll give you all the presents I got you. How does that sound?”

“Yay! Can I come upstairs too? I want to help you daddy!”

“Ah, no no baby, it’s not a lot. You go help your grandma and grandpa with lunch and we’ll be right down in about… half an hour, okay?”

“Probably less” Skye grinned.

The afternoon passed easily. After lunch, Jesse and Skye took their daughter to the park and then the beach where they spent the rest of the day relaxing and playing on the sand. It was one of the happiest days for little Raina. She knew her dad would have to go away again eventually, but she shut that thought out everytime it crept into her brain. Her family was together one more time and that was all that mattered.

When they returned to the house, the sun had already set. But Raina hadn’t had enough of her dad yet. She wanted to spend more time with him, as much as possible, before she had to sleep and that wonderful day was over. She picked up her notebook filled with poetry and sketches and, with great pride, ran to her parents’ bedroom to show it to him. But upon approaching, the voices coming from inside made her stop.

“What do you mean you’re leaving again in a week? You barely even got here Jesse!”

“I know baby, but the new record company fucked us up with that last contract. I really don’t have a choice.”

“Why did you sign the contract then?”

“It was a mistake, I know that now. We’ve already fired our trainwreck of a manager. Shit, I miss Vito. Why did he have to retire so soon? He would’ve never made that mistake.”

Skye snapped her fingers in front of him, as if she was trying to make him concentrate. “Jesse.”

“Baby, you have to believe me! I didn’t mean for this to happen!”

“Goddamnit Jesse, you knew I wanted to travel to Roaring Heights in a month for that gallery opening. I’ve been sitting on those paintings for months now. I thought we had talked about this!”

“Ah yeah, go to Roaring Heights with Tony. Fucking slimy bastard. You think he’s only interested in your paintings? I’ve seen how he looks at you! Gallery opening my ass.”

“What the hell are you talking about? I won’t go with him, we’ll briefly meet there. You are the one who’s away eight or even nine months a year, being chased by all those slutty groupies! Do you see me getting jealous?”

“No Skye, I don’t. And to be completely honest here, I don’t get it.”

“Get what?” Skye glared at him, as if she had already figured out his answer.

“How can you not be jealous? It’s like you don’t even care.”

“Are you kidding me? Of course I get jealous and insecure Jesse, but I don’t say anything because I trust you and because it’s your goddamn job!”

“That’s right! And that job pays for everything you’ve ever wished for, so that you don’t have to get one!”

“Oh, so now I’m your trophy wife? You think that I don’t have ambitions and dreams? You know, all these years I’ve been patient, staying in this house alone with our daughter and your parents while you were roaming around the world, playing music with your buddies. But I can’t take it anymore Jesse, it’s like I’m living in a prison!”

Jesse shook his head with disappointment. “Oh, so taking care of our child is prison.”

Skye bit her lip, realizing how that last part probably sounded like. “No… no Jesse, I didn’t mean like that…”

Raina was silently listening to her parents’ conversation. At that point she couldn’t take it anymore. She threw the notebook on the door, not even sure what she meant to accomplish by that action. Maybe to make her presence known – her name did come up after all – , maybe to make them stop fighting, maybe a little bit of both. She rushed into her room, just in time for the huge knot in her throat to transform into warm tears down her cheeks.

Jesse and Skye looked at each other with uneasiness and regret.

“Shit.” he muttered “How much do you think she heard?”

“I don’t know… but I think it’s time for a timeout. I’ll go talk to her.”

“No baby, it’s okay. I’ll go. Listen… I’m sorry. I don’t wanna fight.”

“Me neither. And… I’m sorry too. I love you, and I love our family… our life. But I miss you, you know?”

“I know baby… I miss you too, so much. I’ll figure something out, alright? I’ll talk to the guys about it. It’s gonna be okay baby, I promise.”

Jesse gave his wife a tender kiss and walked towards his daughter’s bedroom, even though all the lights were off. He knew that was her favorite hiding spot, so he softly knocked on her door.

“Go away!” Raina screamed.

“Baby… it’s me, daddy. Can I come in?”

Jesse could hear his daughter’s sniffling before she answered. “I guess…”

As soon as he was in, he picked her up, sat on the couch beside her and gently wiped some of her tears away. “Hey baby… Uh… about what you heard.”

Raina looked distressed, her big grey eyes veiled under a glossy cast. “Are you and mommy getting a divorce?”

“What? No muffin, where did you get that idea from?”

“My classmate Jen’s parents were always fighting and they got a divorce. She told us last month!”

“You know baby, grownups have intense conversations like that sometimes, but that doesn’t mean they don’t love each other. Me and your mommy love each other very much to get a divorce. And we love you very much as well. You know that, right?”

“But why were you fighting? You always fight when you come back! And then you leave again! …was it something I did?”

“Oh no baby, listen to me. It had nothing to do with you. I am so sorry for making you sad. We both love you so, so much. And it was nothing serious, I promise… it’s all better now. It was my fault we were arguing, but I’ll fix it and we’ll never talk like this again, alright?”

“Do you promise me you’ll never, ever get a divorce?”

Jesse smiled. This was an easy promise. As much as he and his wife drove each other crazy sometimes, he was certain he would be lost without her. And he knew she felt the same way. “We’ll never, ever get a divorce cupcake. Promise.”

“Okay…” Raina muttered with disbelief.

“So, how about a bedtime story?”

“Yay! Daddy… can you tell me the story of how you and mommy fell in love?”

“Hey, don’t think you’ll fool me that easily, squirt. What have we said?”

“…You’ll tell me when I’m older…”

“That’s right.”

“But why?”

Jesse smiled and booped her nose. “Because this story is for grownups and you are too little. Look at this little nose!”

Raina giggled. “Dad, I’m not little! You said so today!”

“I guess I did. Still not old enough for that story though. How about the one with the bear and the frog?”

“Daddy! I don’t like it anymore. This is for babies, haha! But it’s okay, I’ll ask grandma to tell me one. She tells me the best stories! And maybe next time you’ll come back I’ll be a grownup too and then you’ll have to tell me!” she declared.

These words sent a cruel pang to his heart. Damn, he thought, how long have I been so out of it? It finally dawned on him that all this time, like his wife was trying to tell him, he had been missing everything. And everyone missed him. This had to stop.

Raina glanced up at his dad with concern. “…Dad..?”

Waking up from his thoughts, he instinctively took his daughter into a tight hug, nearly afraid she was going to grow into an adult overnight. “We’ll see about that last part, muffin… we’ll see.”

A/N: Hey guys! Well, this was a bit uneventful… I was going for more interesting things but this was getting pretty long, so I decided to cut it there… and I know kids are a little boring lmao, but we still have a couple more chapters and then little Raina and co. can finally grow older! šŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for reading! šŸ˜€ ā¤ ā¤

25 thoughts on “3.00b – Daddy’s back

Add yours

  1. Iā€™m not surprised by the fight. In fact, I sort of expected it. But like they always say…out of the mouths of babes….Raina said exactly what Jesse needed to hear without the grownup emotions, baggage, insecurities and walls getting in the way. I loved that part the best. Kids arenā€™t necessarily boring. And this is her foundation for her adult life. Soooo. I didnā€™t think it was too long….I actually was ready to keep reading! I wanted MORE! Lol….

    Iā€™m sure Jesse will work something out, but, if he quits the band…that might bring on a whole other sort of drama for him. Itā€™s what heā€™s lived and sacrificed for his entire life. Looking forward to more. ā¤ļø Maybe he can take a break until Raina is out of school, and then Skye can tour with them. But that might be too long. But….Jesse…šŸ˜šŸ˜šŸ˜. Iā€™m a fan girl too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup, that kind of fight was bound to happen – Skye has been somewhat unhappy with her life for too long..! I guess Jesse needed to hear it from his daughter!
      Yes, that’s part of why I wanted to do a couple of childhood chapters: set the foundation, like you said! šŸ˜€
      Lol, the next one won’t take too long, I promise! šŸ˜€
      Hmmm that will be tough, if he quits the band… it has been his dream for too long, but maybe now it’s out of his system? We’ll see! šŸ˜‰ Hehe, I’m kind of a fan too, lmao! šŸ˜ šŸ˜‚ ā¤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s almost a good thing Raina intervened- Skye and Jesse love each other, but their fights sure can get nasty very quickly!

    Jesse doesn’t seem to have a work-life balance in the slightest. It’s good that he realized how his super busy schedule is affecting his family, but will he actually be able to commit to being around more often?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heh, they sure can! It’s a good thing Raina interfered, but hearing those things can really hurt her, poor thing..!
      Yeah, unfortunately Jesse does have to choose, he can’t go on like this forever. Hmmm good question! Let’s hope he will be able to commit! šŸ˜‰
      Thank you for reading and commenting! šŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Oh dear, poor Raina really doesn’t have it the easiest. It’s a good thing she has her grandparents because parents are sort of… flakey. Both of them. Maybe Jesse should consider taking a little break from touring, if he’s so afraid his daughter is going to grow up without him.
    Can’t wait to see where this is all going – great chapter! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup, they both are… not ideal to say the least. Thank goodness for Jared and Rose..! (It still seems kind of funny to me that Jared is so good at parenting, lol!)
      Jesse should consider taking a break because if he keeps it up, Raina may end up seeing him as a stranger.
      Thank you so much! ā¤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. OMG, how have I only just realized that all your generations’ names refer to actual names of your Sims? Roses, skies, and now rain! I’m so stupid, lol.
    Aw, poor Raina. I like how we’re getting a more in-depth look into her character before moving on to her teenage and adult years. Sadly, I suck at that, so that’s what we’re definitely not getting with Bindie. I do commend you on that! Childhood is so hard, at least it is for me, to write cleverly about. I usually move on from it as soon as I can, so that I can get into more interesting stuff.
    And admittedly, I thought for a while Raina was going to overhear her parents having sex. Now, that would have been awkward!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lmao!! Hey, don’t even worry about it – I’m barely observant myself and I’m sure I have missed tons of details like this in other stories! šŸ˜‰ Well, I’d love to keep that theme up in future gens too, but I’m not sure for how long I’ll be able to think of matching names and titles, lol!
      Oh, I suck big time at writing children. There are just a few moments of Raina’s childhood I want to show and then we’re moving on! (I also find writing children super boring and I want to move on to more interesting stuff, which hopefully will soon happen)
      Lmaooo how embarrassing would that be? Haha! Well we don’t know what would happen though..! Maybe she got in the way of them having the necessary make-up sex :p
      Thank you for your comment Jowita! šŸ˜€ ā¤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Raina is such a daddyā€™s girl. I love it šŸ„°
    Why do I have a feeling that this will not be the last time Skye and Jesse have this fight?
    But at least afterwards she can help him ā€œunpackā€ šŸ˜‰šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lmaooooo, that was such a dirty line there, wasn’t it? Lol!! No wonder Jesse was shocked XD
      It will probably not be the last Jesse/Skye fight, but maybe -unlike poor Raina – we won’t have to witness more of those. These two are not the focus anymore after all šŸ˜‰
      I think Raina is one of my favorite characters to write. She’s sweet like Rose but – at least I hope – not bland. She’s got many quirks going on, and I hope I can do her justice šŸ™‚
      Thank you so much for your comment! ā¤ ā¤

      Like

    1. Thank you so much! :d I really love her too ā¤
      It's definitely a difficult issue… but like you said, it's not something they both wouldn't expect to occur. Let's hope they find a way through this! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Raina is such a doll! ā¤ I think this fight was bound to happen, but I wonder if this is something Jesse can realistically accomplish? He's got one of those careers that doesn't always coincide with having a family. I hope everything works out becaus I love this little family.

    P.S. I love the new look on your site! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ā¤ Haha, she is so adorable, I agree! šŸ˜‰
      Well, you do have a point. Many people would be very frustrated if their spouse was barely at home, and Skye is no exception. But what could Jesse do? Tours are part of his career after all. Let's hope everything goes well for them!
      Awww thank you so much! šŸ˜€ ā¤ I figured after two years it was time for a change, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, they are soooo boring, lmao! I’m just finishing my next chapter now (I just have to take the pictures) and I’m seriously considering this to be the last one about Raina’s childhood. I just want to get to the good stuff quickly, lol! XD
      You’re right though, childhood is important. But maybe I can show the rest of it in some flashbacks or something šŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I was thinking things were a little bit too perfect and then Raina started overhearing their fight.

    Jesse doesn’t understand how his partner can trust him. šŸ™„ I wonder if something has happened with those groupies. And his comment about her not having a job was so unfair. That’s why she wants to make the trip!

    And he really twisted her words with the prison comment. If he thinks it’s so easy and fun, he should try being a fulltime dad. But he’s not.

    The ending scene was perfect. There was really no other way Jesse could understand.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm, things will never be too perfect with those two unfortunately..!
      Well, I would love to say that Jesse has been entirely faithful during his tours but who knows really. The life of a rock star could get in anyone’s head I suppose! Maybe Skye has come to terms with that. :/
      Jesse was being totally unfair, you’re right!
      And he wouldn’t have realized it if it wasn’t for his daughter. Yes, at this point, only Raina could make him – inadvertently – understand, so thank you so much for saying this! ā¤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. That argument was electric, the back and forth so fast and full of emotion. I think I’m on Skye’s side here. Also, Jesse believing that she should be jealous, wtf is that about?! Silly man!
    Looks like he’s come to a realisation though, so that’s good. Touring life can be too much some times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! ^_^ If I could only write dialogue I would, but alas..! :p I think Lila had mentioned in the beginning of this gen that Jesse is -amongst others- irrational, so yeah… he’s all over the place sometimes! XD
      Thank you so much for reading and commenting! šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Aww this was a sweet but also sad chapter ā¤ Everything Skye said was valid. Jealousy? Come on Jesse, you're supposed to be a grown up now, that comment was childish. Raina is so precious and adorable. She's probably the only person who could make Jesse see the light as he did at the end there. He may think he's doing the right thing, touring and making money so his family doesn't have to live with any burdens, but in hindsight if they are all unhappy and getting old without him, then what's the point? You can't turn back time. And he'll definitely regret not being there for important moments. I wonder if he'll decide to break his contract or something, that wouldn't be cheap though šŸ‘€ Will he decide to take the fam on tour? That'd probably be super difficult. Can't wait to see where this goes šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad to see you here! šŸ˜€ ā¤
      Yup, Jesse can be so childish sometimes still – come on dude, you a have a child yourself now, you don't need to be one!
      Unfortunately I still haven't addressed what happened with Jesse's band, but I will; I haven't forgotten! šŸ˜‰ And you're right that only Raina could make him see what he had (and would) be missing with all those months away!
      Thank you so much for your comment! ā¤ ā¤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh, I feel so bad for poor Raina, with both of her parents being that inattentive. Skye really doesn’t seem to enjoy being a mother and Jesse is just off frolicking around the world in his dream career. I can imagine how horrible it must have been for Raina to hear that from her mother, but to be honest, I’m on Skye’s side here. Jesse really has the nerve to be disappointed in Skye for feeling trapped as a parent, when he’s the barest definition of one ā€” all he pretty much does is provide money. He’s a full grown adult now but seriously, sometimes he still has the mentality of an immature teenage boy šŸ˜¬
    “And maybe next time you’ll come back I’ll be a grownup too” Raina said that line so innocently but it hit me hard, as well as Jesse. I hope he will follow through on that realisation and take full responsibility as a father. Raina needs both of her parents there for her. I do wonder if Skye’s rather cold and distant attitude towards her and Jesse’s absence is why she’s always daydreaming and caught up in her own happy little bubble…
    Great chapter ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man… I’m so, so sorry for my late reply! I’ve been suddenly so overwhelmed in rl that I had completely abandoned wp, but that was rude of me. Again, I’m so sorry!
      Yup, you are absolutely right in everything you said..! Especially that bit about Jesse still being an immature teenage boy, lmao! When is that dude going to change, really?! XD And Skye, despite her shortcomings as a parent, at least chose to stay close to their daughter. So Jesse definitely has no right to say anything!
      And yes, perhaps Raina’s attitude towards life has something to do with her parents’ behavior..! Hmmm I still haven’t really told what happened with Jesse and his career, but I still plan to (someday, lol) šŸ˜‰
      Thank you sooo much for your comment! I’m so happy to see you again here! šŸ˜€ ā¤ ā¤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑